Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Hawick lose out to Boroughmuir
Your News Hawick lose out to Boroughmuir

A good sized Hawick contingent arrived at Meggatland on a lovely afternoon for running rugby in what was going to be another tough match for Hawick made all the more difficult with some late team changes, Matt Landels and Craig Charters being replaced by Lindsey Gibson and Keith Davies. Despite losing their opening match against Ayr, Hawick showed that they could compete with one of the best sides and would be hoping to build on the previous weeks performance.

Playing into the wind, Hawick as last week, started strongly and controlled play. A Neil Renwick penalty opened the scoring for Hawick but with Boroughmuir's bigger forwards starting to come more into the match, the home side replied with two penalties to take the lead at 6-3. A quick tap penalty from Stuart Hogg who took play up to the Boroughmuir 22, the ball quickly found Steven Anderson on the wing who needed no second invitation to run in at the corner for an excellent score and Hawick regained the lead at 8-6. Boroughmuir then replied with another penalty and a converted try just before the break to turn round leading by 16 points to 8.

With Hawick now having the advantage of the strong breeze, they would be hoping to keep Boroughmuir pinned well into their own half. With young Greg Cottrell again turning in a fine performance at scrum half, he made a break in the middle of the park, his pass finding Rory Hutton who managed to just outpace the home defence to score a unconverted try which got Hawick right back into the match at 16-13. Hawick kept up the pressure but could not break a resolute Boroughmuir defence. Another penalty by Boroughmuir completed the scoring at 19-13 and again, all Hawick had to show for their efforts was another bonus point.

Team:- 15. Gary Johnstone, 14. Neil Renwick, 13. Stuart Hogg, 12. Graham Hogg, 11. Steven Anderson, 10. Rory Hutton, 9. Greg Cottrell, 1. Bruce McNeil (Capt), 2. Lindsey Gibson, 3. Sean Linton, 4. Keith Davies, 5. Michael Robertson, 6. Nick McTaggart, 7. Danny Landels, 8. David Lowrie.

Replacements:- 16. Greg Anderson, 17. Gary Lowrie, 18. Gary Douglas

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching