Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Birmingham & Solihull v Pontypridd - match report
Your News Birmingham & Solihull v Pontypridd - match report

An early lead for Pontypridd courtesy of a Dean Gunter penalty

was soon cancelled out as the Bees struck back with a try scored by

flanker Adam Clayton and converted by wing Simon Hunt. An error

strewn encounter at least offered plenty of scoring opportunities,

with Ponty winger Chris Clayton going over for a well worked try in

the corner, the score converted by Gunter. As centre Lee Thorne

powered through for another touchdown, Ponty were looking good for

their 8pts to 15 advantage. The visitors were however anything but

dominant, and the Bees striking back with two tries in the run in

to half time, scored by full back Tom Foden and centre John Holtby,

both converted by Hunt to hoist the home team into an interval lead

of 21pts to 15. As another Simon Hunt penalty sailed through the

posts, an attack minded Birmingham team looked geared up for their

first British & Irish Cup win of the season. Pontypridd however

had other ideas. Ponty fought their way back into contention,

repelling all home attacks with some big hit tackles in midfield,

and exerting more pressure themselves. As lock Grant Harrington

claimed a try from a forward drive, a comeback seemed likely. With

sixty-two minutes on the clock winger Chris Clayton went over for a

close range try – his fiftieth for the club – with Dean Gunter

adding the conversion. Despite a late yellow card being issued to

Ponty lock Harrington, there was no way back for the Bees as the

visitors held out for a well earned bonus point victory by 24pts to

27. Pontypridd: Matthew Nuthall. 14.Owen Williams. 13.Adam Thomas.

12.Lee Thorne (Gary Williams). 11.Chris Clayton. 10.Dean Gunter.

9.Gavin Morris (Kristian Baller). 1.Stuart Williams (Jon Williams).

2.Tom Hetherington. 3.Ryan Harford. 4.Grant Harrington. 5.John

Barley (Dale McIntosh). 6.Ryan Savage. 7.Wayne O’Connor (Greg

Williams). 8.Chris Dicomidis.

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching