Username Password
join FREE
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Hawick 23 - Peebles 9
Your News Hawick 23 - Peebles 9

With the passing of Bill McLaren, this week marked a very sad episode for

the town of Hawick and indeed the entire rugby fraternity. A well deserved

one minute hand clap was held by the spectators and players prior to the

kick off. The YM and their opponents, Waysiders Drumpellier, also lined up

on the banking to join in the mark of respect which would be echoed around

many other rugby grounds around the country.

This was the home first league match for over a month, the last being

against Aberdeen Grammar away back on the 12th December, with the fixture

lists being all but wiped out due to the severe wintry weather of late. The

coaches and players were keen to get the promotion race back on track after

the defeat at Netherdale.

Biggar were three points up in as many minutes with a penalty but Hawick

did not let this unsettle them. Some spirited play by both backs and

forwards failed to yield any points. The pressure finally told when John

Coutts intercepted a pass on the twenty two and strolled in under the posts

for a try which Graham Hogg converted for a 7-3 lead. A Hogg penalty

increased Hawick's lead followed by something of a rarity these days, a drop

goal, by John Coutts which gave Hawick a 13 points to 3 advantage. Good work

by the forwards saw Neil Renwick make the initial break who off loaded to

Bruce McNeil who crash over for Hawick's second try, again converted by

Graham Hogg. The score remained at 20 points to 9 until half time.

Biggar started the second half a different team that seemed to catch Hawick

off guard. Only good Hawick defence kept the visitors out and all that

Biggar could show for their efforts were two penalties to reduce Hawick's

lead to 20-9. The match then descended into a very scrappy affair, not

helped by some strange refereeing decisions. A late Hogg penalty saw Hawick

complete the double over Biggar and emerge winners by 23 points to 9.

Team:- 1. Ali Marsh, 2. Hue Scammell, 3. Sean Linton, 4. Keiron Willison, 5.

Craig Charters, 6. Ross Gibson, 7. David Lowrie, 8. Bruce McNeil, 9. Kevin

Reid, 10. Dean McCracken, 11. Lee Armstrong, 12. Graham Hogg, 13. John

Coutts, 14. Michael Graham, 15. Gary Johnstone

16. Neil Renwick, 17. Garry Douglas, 18. Keith Davies, 19. Matt Landels

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching