Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Blues set for tough Moseley challenge
Your News Blues set for tough Moseley challenge

With summer now a distant memory, the wait is finally over for Bedford Blues fans as the Championship kicks off on Saturday afternoon with the visit of Moseley to Goldington Road.

Following a pre-season campaign that saw defeats to Pau and Saracens before convincing victories over Cardiff and Cambridge, the Blues are raring to go and looking forward to the coming campaign which starts with a tough challenge against Midland rivals.

Bedford will be without the Player’s Player of 2011/12 Chris Locke who is ruled out for a month after tearing his Medial Patellofemoral Ligament (MPFL) during the friendly with Cambridge last week. Paul Tupai has recovered well from an operation in the summer but just misses out as does Tom Armes and Mark Atkinson who were both carrying minor knocks.

Speaking ahead of the season curtain-raiser, Blues Team Manager Rob Crowle said: “I think that everyone is really excited about this Saturday. We’ve had a tough pre-season but everyone has put in a lot of hard work but it will count for nothing if we don’t transfer that onto the pitch come 3pm.

“Moseley have recruited extremely well during the summer and we know that we are in for a really tough game this weekend. Moseley have some really impressive forwards but having watched them face Northampton last weekend, we also know that they like to run with the ball in hand. All in all it should make for a cracking start to the season.”

New signings James Stephenson and Ben Gulliver get starting debuts while Joe Vandermolen, who signed a short term deal this week after impressing during a summer trial, takes a place on the bench.

Starting Line-up:

15. James Pritchard (c)

14. James Stephenson

13. Brendan Burke

12. Henry Staff

11. Josh Bassett

10. Jake Sharp

9. Luke Baldwin

1. Dan Seal

2. Neil Cochrane

3. Phil Boulton

4. Ben Gulliver

5. Alex Rae.

6. Gregor Gillanders

7. Sacha Harding

8. Don Barrell

Replacements: 16. Scott Spurling, 17. Ben Cooper, 18. Mike Howard, 19. Joe Vandermolen, 20. Darryl Veenendaal, 21. Ian Vass, 22. Ben Ransom

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching