Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Derby rivalry adds spice to North RU Under 18 competition
Your News Derby rivalry adds spice to North RU Under 18 competition

Derby rivalry adds spice to North RU Under 18 competition

The second batch of games in the Northern Counties Under 18 competition will be staged on Sunday (October 26) when a brace of derby games will be played at Westoe and Tyldesley.

In the North East, there will be added incentive in that Durham and Northumberland will be competing for the Davy-Watt Cup, a trophy named after two fine servants of schools rugby, Chris Davy and Brian Watt.

Durham are making their first appearance in the competition, as are Lancashire, who take on Cheshire at Tyldesley RFC.

After losing 30-0 in their opening game against Yorkshire at Wilmslow, Cheshire need to lift their game, whereas Northumberland opened their account with a 41-15 win over Cumbria at Penrith and will not be short of confidence when they run out at Westoe.

Elsewhere, in the North East, Billingham will be hosting the Under 16 match between Durham and Yorkshire on Sunday, while the Under 16 programme also gets underway in the North West at Stockport, where Lancashire entertain Cheshire.

Saturday, December 13 is an important date in the Under 16 diary. On that day youngsters with an eye on an England place will be involved in a North Trial at Kings School, Macclesfield.

Durham Under 18s (v Northumberland at Westoe, Sunday, October 26); Toby Lawson (Yarm School & Darlington); Shaun McCartney (Egglescliffe School & Darlington), Harry Redhead (Durham School), Peter Homan (Darlington), Scott Jordan (Brierton 6th FC & West Hartlepool), Bradley Pears (Durham School), Felix Pierson (Yarm School); Michael Whitley (Harton CS & Westoe), Josh Stones (Durham City), Chris Bark (Barnard Castle School), Matthew Regan (Middlesbrough), Joe Rafferty (High Tunstall CS & West Hartlepool), George Studd (Durham Johnson & Durham City), Olie Kitson (Yarm School & Darlington), Carl Kerwin (Macmillan Coll).

Replacements: Ben Glaister-Smith (High Tunstall & West Hartlepool), Jack Rigby (Barnard Castle School & West Hartlepool), Lee Theakston, Joe Larder (Darlington), Matthew Mellish (Harton CS & West Hartlepool), Adam French (St Bedes Lanchester), Tom Bramwell (Barnard Castle School).

Northumberland U18s: Matty Dale (Whitley Bay HS & Percy Park); John Summers (Dame Allans), Ben Ford (QEHS Hexham & Tynedale RFC), Andrew Hall (RGS Newcastle), Ben Smith (Kings Tynemouth & Percy Park RFC); James Moffat (Dame Allans), Mattie Outson (Gosforth HS & Tynedale RFC); Nik Burdon (RGS Newcastle & Northern RFC), Charlie Maddison (QEHS & Tynedale RFC), Fraser Balmain (RGS Newcastle & Gosforth RFC), Kristian Sorensen (Gosforth HS & Tynedale RFC), Cam Curry (King Edward VI & Morpeth RFC), Dan Ginger (Coquet HS & Alnwick RFC), James Stansby (Durham School & Morpeth RFC), Andy Evans (Gosforth HS & Tynedale RFC).

Replacements: Emmet McNally (Gosforth HS & Northern RFC), Ben Walker (Heaton Manor & Novos RFC), Dan Halliday (Morpeth RFC), Joel Hodgson (RGS Newcastle & Northern RFC), Tony Quinn-Jaques (St. Thomas More & Blaydon RFC), Lewis Munnelly (RGS Newcastle & Northern RFC).

Durham Under 16s (v Yorkshire at Billingham RFC, Sunday, October 26): James Hyde (Hummersnott & Darlington Mowden Park); George McGuigan (Richmond & Darlington), Nick Crowe (Barnard Castle), Michael Chatt (Hummersnott & Darlington Mowden Park), Andrew Turner (High Tunstall & West Hartlepool), Andrew Thompson (Billingham Campus & Billingham), Connor Shea (Billingham Campus & Billingham), Angus Robertson (Barnard Castle & Darlington) capt, Daniel Finney (Billingham Campus & Billingham), Jak Gaff (Harton & Billingham), Fraser Wilson (Cardinal Hume & Ryton), Liam Austwick (St Hills & Hartlepool Rovers), Tom Kill (Durham & Billingham), Jake Day (Billingham Campus & Billingham), Henry Pemberton (Durham & Darlington).

Replacements: Dominic Connolly (Harton & Westoe), Ross Edwards (Stokesley & Guisborough), Pierce Phillips (Stokesley & Guisborough), Chris Atkins (St Hills & Hartlepool Rovers), Patrick Hebblethwaite (Yarm & Darlington), Zac McCluskey (Lawrence Jackson & Guisborough), Mark McMahon (Harton & Westoe).

Yorkshire Under 16s: Chris Gemmell (Giggleswick School); Arnie Ellison Bradford GS),Haylings (Hymers College), Pete Loucock (Allerton Grange & Moortown), Olly Rissillo (Harrogate GS & Harrogate); Ed Hainsworth (Bradford GS), Ed Armitage (Sedbergh); Josh Thundercliffe (Filey & Hull Ionians), Sam Kerry (Ridgewood & Wheatley Hills), Tom Coates (Wales High), Dom Barrow (Bradford GS & Doncaster), Hugo Govatt (Leeds GS & Otley), Jack Scott-Paul (Bedale HS), Nathan Rogers (Prince Henrys GS & Otley), James Tyson (Pocklington).

Replacements: Jack Bergmanus (Ridgewood & Wheatley Hills), Matt Beaumont (Bradford GS), Henry Forbes (Ampleforth), Joe McGeachen, Josh Bird (Wath upon Dearne & Doncaster), Simon Hammersley (Hymers College).

Lancashire Under 16s (v Cheshire at Stockport, Sunday, October 26, 2pm): Ben Perkins (Arnold School & Fylde); Tahir El-Mahdi (Audenshaw School & Aldwinians), Mark Walling (Lancaster RGS & Vale of Lune), Michael Simmons (Lytham HS & Fylde), Ralph Dowds (King Edwards & QM & Fylde); Pearse Carson (King Edwards & QM & Fylde), Samuel Whyte (Haslingden HS & Preston Grasshoppers); Jay Rudland-Thomas (Lancaster RGS & Vale of Lune), Thomas Burtonwood (Baines HS & Fylde), Ryan Fish (Ripley St Thomas HS & Vale of Lune), Mark Bramhall (Hutton GS & Preston Grasshoppers), Daniel Worthington (Lancaster RGS), Oliver Farley (Lowton HS & Preston Grasshoppers), Conor Clancy (Stonyhurst College & London Irish Amateur) capt, Charles McDermott (Stonyhurst College).

Replacements: Lei Pan (Stonyhurst College), James Bantleman (Hutton GS & Preston Grasshoppers), Alexander Lo (Kirkham GS), Kristian Rolland (Lytham HS & Fylde), Craig Glover (Fairfield HS & Widnes), Robert Goulding (Fairfield HS & Widnes), Chris Kohler (St. Mary's HS & Preston Grasshoppers).

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching