Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Knights aim for local bragging rights
Your News Knights aim for local bragging rights

Brett Davey has announced his squad for the all Yorkshire clash with Leeds Carnegie at the Headingley Carnegie Stadium this Sunday.

The Knights are buoyed by the return to action of long serving hooker, Steve Boden and crowd favourite Chris Planchant who claims the number eight jersey for his first start of the season since his re-arrival from Pontefract.

Whilst local lad Tom Davies also returns to the starting line-up after fully recovering from an early season injury having scored the last minute winner against London Scottish last weekend off the bench.

An injury to Andy Boyde keeps the ex-England Under 19 skipper, out of the line-up for the derby with his former club allowing Leinster recruit Michael Noone to take his place in the substitutes.

Davey is not underestimating Leeds despite the Headingley clubs poor start to the season and is keen to prove the Knights can perform away from Castle Park.

It will be a tough game, they had a poor result at Pirates but we know theyre better than their last performance - its a local derby, a big game, and we need to maintain our momentum.

It could be a tight first half since we both like to open up in the second period, theyre a young, fit side but so are we and we have to keep on coming at them from the first minute until the last.

He described the game, which is the first of four all-Yorkshire league battles for the Knights this season, as a showcase for rugby union in the county and expects the home grown players in his squad to rouse the passions of the team for the occasion.

Starting line-up

15 David McIlwaine

14 Dougie Flockhart

13 Ollie Goss

12 PJ Gidlow

11 Michael Keating

10 Tom Luke

9 Chris Hallam

1 Tom Davies

2 Steve Boden

3 Alex Brown

4 Matt Challinor

5 Glen Kenworthy

6 Latu Makaafi

7 Zack Farivarz

8 Chris Planchant

16 Andy Brown

17 Royce Burke-Flynn

18 Dom Parsons

19 Michael Noone

20 David Bradford

21 Lee Audis

22 Mike Whitehead

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching