Username Password
join FREE
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > London Welsh team v Esher
Your News London Welsh team v Esher

Seb Jewell will make his first Championship start for London Welsh against his former club Esher in Friday’s derby game at Molesey Road (7:45pm).

Jewell came off the bench in the Exiles’ 34-23 win over Nottingham, having kicked three conversions on his debut for Welsh in their British & Irish Cup win over London Scottish.

His first Championship start, though, since joining Welsh in the summer, will come at the club he spent three seasons during his time at Wasps and Harlequins. Indeed, his 23 tries helped the club win promotion to the Championship in 2009/10 and he scored a further 25 points for Esher last season.

Jewell lines up at inside centre and is one of ten changes, including two positional, made by London Welsh head coach Lyn Jones from the side that beat Nottingham at Old Deer Park last Saturday.

There’s a first start for Joe Ajuwa, with Will Hurrell switching from the right to left wing, while Rob Lewis comes back into the side at scrum half. It’s all change in the front row as Jones names Dan George at hooker and Greg Bateman at tighthead, with James Tideswell moving to loosehead.

Martin Purdy makes his first Championship start of the season, having come off the bench against Nottingham, with Ben Russell another to make his first Championship start of the season, at blindside flanker.

Russell comes in for club captain Jon Mills, with vice captain Gordon Ross taking over the captain’s armband for the trip to Molesey Road.

London Welsh may be third in the table, with three wins from their opening four Championship games while Esher are still searching for their first win of the league season, but the Exiles will be taking nothing for granted on Friday evening.

Almost a year to the day last season under floodlights on a Friday evening at Molesey Road the Exiles went down 22-19, while in the return game at Old Deer Park, Welsh edged out their rivals 24-17.

London Welsh team v Esher: 15. Edd Thrower, 14. Joe Ajuwa, 13. Hudson Tonga’uiha*, 12. Seb Jewell, 11. Will Hurrell, 10. Gordon Ross* ©, 9. Rob Lewis, 1. James Tideswell, 2. Dan George, 3. Greg Bateman, 4. Adam Brown, 5. Martin Purdy, 6. Ben Russell, 7. Mike Denbee, 8. Ed Jackson.

Replacements: 16. Vili Ma’asi*, 17. Guillermo Roan, 18. Gary Johnson, 19. Epi Taione, 20. Ben Stevenson, 21. Alex Davies, 22. Paul Mackey.

* Denotes full international

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching