Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Thurrock's girl power wins rugby award
Your News Thurrock's girl power wins rugby award

THURROCK LADIES RFC have been presented with their RFU President’s XV Award, supported by QBE, the specialist in business insurance.

The Essex-based ‘T-Birds’ won the Girl Power category of the prestigious annual rugby union awards, in celebration of their female team which has been in existence for over 15 years.

The T-Birds have gone from strength to strength in recent months, with Thurrock team members India Harvey and Emily Scott being included in the England Under 18 and U20 teams respectively in 2010-11.

In addition, 18 girls were selected to represent the county and a further 20 girls were selected for divisional trials.

Now in its fifth year, the RFU President’s XV Awards identify and reward initiatives that promote the development of rugby at a grassroots level. This year the RFU received 274 entries for the competition’s 15 categories.

Paul Murphy, RFU Vice President, visited the club to present Thurrock Ladies RFC with a winner’s cheque for £500 and a special trophy.

Mercedes Foy, Thurrock Ladies RFC, said:“We’re so pleased to have been chosen for the Girl Power award. We’re really proud of the achievements made at this club to support women’s rugby in the local community, and to be recognised for our efforts is such an honour.”

The RFU President’s XV judging panel comprised of RFU President Richard Appleby, Immediate Past President John Owen, Vice-Presidents Willie Wildash and Paul Murphy, RFUW President Gill Burns, Jason Leonard, Rugby World editor Paul Morgan and Danny Grainger representing QBE.

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching