Username Password
join FREE
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > 6 changes for England U18
Your News 6 changes for England U18

England U18 Head Coach John Fletcher has made six changes to the team which beat Ireland at Donnybrook for their game against Italy, this Sunday at Heywood Road, Sale.

Local Manchester Grammar School boy Marcus Webber who plays for Leeds Carnegie and is the cousin of professional footballer Danny Webber, wins his first cap on the left wing. A

nthony Watson (London Irish), a try-scorer against Ireland switches to the other side. Mark Jennings who attends Mysercough College also keeps his place and as a Sale Shark, will be playing on home turf.

Mitchell Tamiau (London Wasps), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs) and James Lightfoot-Brown (London Irish) also come into the new look back line.

England will field the same front row as they did in Ireland but captain Dominic Barrow (Leeds Carnegie) moves from lock to flanker to replace the injured David Sisi (London Irish) who was unable to join the squad. Sisis club mate at London Irish, George Sandford comes into the second row. Should he come off the bench replacement Scott Spurling (Saracens) will also win his first cap.

Head coach John Fletcher said: The first two games of any campaign are a chance to give all the lads a game so we always intended to make changes and get new players starting the match against Italy.

Its great to be able to pick from pretty much a full squad, who have learnt the lessons from a tough win over Ireland. Were in a better place now, all squads grow over time, so we need to continue to play well and win as many matches as we can.

The lads all get on very well and theyll continue to bond as we play more matches. Its a great help that they know each other well from their time in the various regional academies.

England U18 team to face Italy:

15 Jack Nowell (Truro College) (Exeter Chiefs)

14 Anthony Watson (St. Georges College) (London Irish)

13 Mark Jennings Myerscough College) (Sale Sharks)

12 Mitchell Tamiau (Twyford C of E School) (London Wasps)

11 Marcus Webber (Manchester Grammar) (School Leeds Carnegie)

10 Henry Slade (Plymouth College) (Exeter Chiefs)

9 James Lightfoot-Brown (St Pauls College) (London Irish)

1 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Truro College) (Exeter Chiefs)

2 Nathan Morris (Sedbergh School) (London Wasps)

3 Danny Herriott (Moulton College) (Northampton Saints)

4 Tom Jubb (Oaklands College) (Harlequins)

5 George Sandford (Lord Wandsworth College) (London Irish)

6 Dominic Barrow (C) (Prince Henrys Grammar School) (Leeds Carnegie)

7 Matt Hankin (Haileybury College) (Saracens)

8 Jack Clifford (RGS Guildford) (Harlequins)


16 Scott Spurling (Harrow School) (Saracens)

17 Tom Smallbone (Harrow School) (London Irish)

18 Alec Hepburn (Henley College) (London Wasps)

19 Tom Price (Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth I Sixth Form College) (Leicester Tigers)

20 Joe Buckle (Bryanston School) (Bath Rugby)

21 Will Hooley (The Leys School) (Northampton Saints)

22 Sam Hill (Ivybridge College) (Exeter Chiefs)

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching