Username Password
Chat about Rugby in our Forum
everything rugby
latestSearch News
Our Sponsor
Our Sponsor
Home > News > Woodrow hoping for happy return to Bristol
Your News Woodrow hoping for happy return to Bristol

Newly re-signed fly half Mark Woodrow takes his place in the Bees’ starting line up for the trip to Bristol this Sunday (31st October, 3pm KO) at The Memorial Stadium.

Woodrow, who put pen to paper this week for what will be his third spell with the Club, will be returning to the ground where he helped the West Country club gain promotion to the Premiership in the 2004/5 season. It was also against Bristol Rugby where he played the last game of his second spell with the Bees.

He is one of several changes to the Bees side which suffered a last gasp defeat against Moseley in the last round of the Championship. Veteran prop Nglau Tau will captain the side which will be without both Semisi Taulava and Leo Halavatau who are sidelined with injuries. Dan Sanderson comes in at second row, with Jack Preece also making the starting line up in the pack. In the backs, John Brake join Woodrow in the half backs, with Ed Binham and Ollie Grove forming the partnership at centre.

Speaking ahead of the game, Bees’ Director of Rugby Russell Earnshaw said, “Bristol is a fantastic place to play and watch rugby so we are excited at the prospect of a challenging encounter with a very good side. Their current league position certainly does not reflect the strength of their squad. It has been ‘back to business’ for us in training this week, as we have tried to put the disappointment of a last minute defeat behind us. “

Former Bees’ winger Anthony Elliott is due to face his former team mates for the first time since re-signing for Bristol.

The Birmingham & Solihull team to face Bristol away at The Memorial Stadium on Sunday 31st October is as follows:- 1. Rob Dugard, 2. Ross McMillan, 3. Nglau Tau (c), 4. Dan Sanderson, 5. Adrian Griffiths, 6. Jack Bentall, 7. Jack Preece, 8. Adam Clayton, 9. John Brake, 10. Mark Woodrow, 11. Mitch Culpin, 12. Ed Binham, 13. Ollie Grove, 14. Simon Hunt and 15. Tom Foden. On the bench:- 16. Rob Connolly, 17. Joe Reid, 18. Mauro Sperandio, 19. Mike Denbee, 20. Will Lawson, 21. Rod Petty and 22. Tomasi Tanumi.

join Free
Free Site
Online Coaching